#Janathon Day 1

walkers (1 of 1)I’ve seen #Janathon online for the last couple of years and watched my sister do it before. The idea is you do a bit of exercise every day for the whole of January and blog/tweet about it within 24 hours. You can see the website here. I did think about signing up a few weeks ago but have been having a few blue weeks and committing to anything seemed like a bad idea. But one walk in the woods today and I’m already feeling a bit better and have just signed up to the challenge. The walk was a random New Year bimble with friends rather than a planned Janathon event so I’ve really started the challenge by accident but hey, that doesn’t make it any less of a commitment.

I am in a better position to achieve the whole month this year as I’ve started going on an exercise bike 3 times as week as part of the rehabilitation of a knee injury and I’m doing a Pilates class once a week. But, that said, because I’m doing those things I often justify not doing anything else!

The knee injury has taken my beloved long distance walking off the table for a good portion of 2014 and for the foreseeable future, but part of the reason I was injured was that I’d do nothing, train a bit for an endurance walk, then walk way too far, too fast and without good technique. I can walk across the Lake District in a week but couldn’t run from my sofa to the kitchen and when I did try to start the C25K last year I ended up doing my knee and back in.

So I will do a bit of exercise and blog about it every day in January. Join me?

 

Leave a Reply

