C25K: week 1, day 1

trainersI’m booked to walk the Cumbria Way in May with my friend Adele. We’ve walked long distance trails before, but the Cumbria Way promises to be a lot more up and down than any I’ve done for a very long time. I’ve been training but realised quickly I need to get my cardio fitness levels up, ready for those Lake District hills.

I’ve started running the C25K programme which stands for Couch to 5km and consists of a series of free podcasts designed to get people running 3 days a week for 9 weeks with the amount of running increasing weekly.

I don’t run. I just don’t, but I need to get fit, quickly and this seems like a good way to do it.I work at a physiotherapy clinic and one of the physios who is also a long distance runner recommended this to me. I’m hoping they’ll also put me back together again afterwards!

I’ll blog along with my experiences in case it encourages anyone else and to motivate myself.

Today’s programme was 5 minute brisk walk then 60 seconds run with 90 seconds brisk walk 5 times and a 5 minute cool down walk. The 4th run was the hardest, not least because I had to go uphill at that point. My recovery times suck and hips and arse aren’t designed to run. I also don’t want to lose any weight so I’m going to have to watch that.

I am going to keep going. I need some new trainers because the cheapo ones I have from TKMaxx aren’t suitable (even if they were the only ones I could find in my size that didn’t cost the same as a mortgage.)

Any encouragement gratefully received and if you see me not blogging on this, shout at me!

2 thoughts on “C25K: week 1, day 1

  1. I was a very unfit 95k 49 year old when I started a similar program. I couldnt manage three mins running in the beginning. I kep a running journal and now use an app called runkeeper and looking back I can see I’ve made so much progress. Lost lots of weight and am running my first 10k in two weeks. Its been fun and painful but Im so glad I did it.

  2. Pingback: #Janathon Day 1 | heathermaystanley

Leave a Reply

