Veggie adventures: following my heart & taking my brain

follow your heart copyI’ve been chuffed with the support I’ve had since blogging about my trial of vegetarianism. It is lovely to hear stories of becoming or leaving vegetarianism. I’ve been flooded with suggestions for blogs to follow and recipes to try. Even my brother was supportive!

There’s been some teasing too though! Apparently, only giving it up in stages isn’t the way to play the game.

I am trialling removing meat from my diet a bit at a time for a couple of reasons, the main one being my health. I explained in the original post of this series that I have a wickedly fast metabolism and can be quite picky in my diet. Going ‘cold turkey’ (excuse the pun) isn’t a sensible way to do this for me. I need to build up replacement foods in my diet, work out what alternatives there are and do a bunch of menu planning. I always carry sugary sweets because I get very severe sugar lows which aren’t related to diabetes but can make me quite dizzy, faint and sick. Cutting out a significant form of energy in one go isn’t wise for me.

Of course, I could do better planning and investigation before giving up meat entirely, but that’s not just me!  In the past I approach things like this quite academically, making decisions and positioning myself on issues after having done tonnes of research. But, times change and so have I.

I could read book after book, blog after blog, talk to people, plan a menu in minute detail, find massive blocks of soya on the internet for the lowest price and pack my minute kitchen full of spices and alternatives. Well firstly I don’t have the cash or time for all that at the moment! And secondly, these days when I challenge myself to something I simply have to get going so that’s why I’m doing it this way. As the photo says above, I am following my heart, but taking my brain with me. I need to look after my health, my pocket, my hubby and the planet and not necessarily in that order.

I do think those who have said giving up a bit at a time is daft are right if I was doing this for animal rights reasons. If I had decided ‘meat is murder’ then giving it up in part would be hypocritical. I haven’t come to a conclusion on that yet, I may never! I’ll be exploring the different drivers for vegetarianism as I go. That might all sound back to front, but this is a complicated world and there are no simple answers. I read recently the environment impact of producing soya is equal to that of producing meat. Where does that leave me while I explore the environmental impact of what we eat! But I can’t go around naked and hungry and one answer is never right continually so let’s see where this journey goes.

2 thoughts on “Veggie adventures: following my heart & taking my brain

  1. Whichever way works best for you is the best way. I think cutting it out a bit at a time is a great idea, otherwise it’ll mean a huge change to your lifestyle and may be offputting. Easing yourself into it gently makes sense. When I first became vegetarian (21 years ago), I decided to carry on eating fish at first, then eventually (I think it was only a few weeks) gave that up too. It’s all second nature to me now (just wish supermarkets would be consistent in their labelling. Sometimes they have a massive V on their products, sometimes they write ‘suitable for vegetarians’ in tiny writing on the back.)

    • Thanks for the encouragement Cathy! That’s another reason I couldn’t do it all in a big hit – I just know it would be too much of a shock to the system! I’ve already started noticing labelling inconsistencies. Spent ages in the Pasta aisle at Sainsbury the other day trying to work out if there were any pestos I could eat. Plus there is a logo for healthy eating that is way too close to one used to denote vegetarian friendly. Will get used to it.

Leave a Reply

