Wednesday Stuff 5/6/13

MRLFirst off, posted left is a lovely letter from Lord Toby Jug of the Monster Raving Loony party. Says it all really. Big version by clicking on the photo.

Then for anyone who didn’t hear it, at  2hr and 21min in Monday’s Radio 4 Today Programme presenters have a right giggle about the Daily Fail’s suggestion having a female Dr Who would be bad for boys. Because boys can’t cope with female role models. Indeed, having a female Dr Who would actually undo decades of good work by Dr Who. So beware, all you blokes out there are probably in danger of being emasculated by a female Time Lord. I actually thought the presenters were going to say “This is TOO stupid to even discuss, let’s move on.”

A Lovely prayer from Changing Attitude ahead (at the time) of the debate and vote in the House of Lords about the Equal Marriage Bill.

I am musing a blog about this. It occurs to me when there are Christians in the world clearly on two very different sides of a debate, how do we respond when we see an answer to the prayer in the form we didn’t want. What do all the Christians praying for this bill to fail read from the fact the House of Lord’s agreed to send it on to committee which is a step towards it becoming law. Do they take it as a sign their prayers were or were not answered? Or that what they prayed for was wrong? Or that it was right just the answer to their prayer is the ‘not yet’ answer we get told God likes to use.  As I was writing this, a friend posted the meme below on Facebook. Adding to my musings that’s for sure!confirmation bias

We ask you to pray in love. Prayer does not change the mind of God. Offered in love, prayer has the power to change the future and to change us. Prayer offered in openness and trust can channel the infinite, tender love of God which is shared with every person irrespective of their gender, sexuality, race, whether they are people of faith or not.

Great piece about how some folk should be changing their minds about how they feel about kids in Church. I am totally *that* mom.

When we teach children that their worship matters, we teach them that they are enough right here and right now as members of the church community. They don’t need to wait until they can believe, pray or worship a certain way to be welcome here, and I know adults who are still looking to be shown that. It matters that children learn that they are an integral part of this church, that their prayers, their songs, and even their badly (or perfectly timed depending on who you ask) cries and whines are a joyful noise because it means they are present.

(This goes out to all the Dad’s too!)

Books:

clareA quick plug for a great book I just finished. Clare Balding’s autobiography: My family and other animals. I had no real reason to read this other than I needed a break from theology books and an autobiography usually does me nicely. Clare seems like a sweet lady and an interesting character, but I knew from reviews this book contained a lot about horses and I have never been much of one for our equine friends but I loved it! The story of Clare’s privileged but unsettled childhood is an amusing, touching and funny read. Highly recommended.

I’m on to Jay Rayner’s A greedy man in a hungry world: why almost everything you know about food is wrong. Really looking forward to this, though I suspect my husband won’t be so impressed when I go vegetarian at last and start changing his diet beyond recognition.

Photos:

greenbeltChuffed my photo of Greenbelt was chosen to be part of the Guardian’s Witness photography project. They gather different photos on different subjects. I submitted my photo of Communion at Greenbelt in 2011 because for me, the festival truly does what it says. Faith, arts and social justice collide in a melting pot of wonderful people and experiences.

Tweets of the week:

Bishop Alan Wilson: If there were a shared and common understanding of marriage in the UK now, this debate would not be happening #equalmarriage

Sarah Millican: My sports bra doesn’t work. I have not done any sport since I bought it.

Unnamed Insider : Dear @Official_EDL I hear you’re demonstrating in Cardiff tomorrow! You understand that’s not in England, right?

Rachel Danae Burgin: Do you think if we renamed foodbanks soup kitchens, people might be appropriately outraged that we have them in 21stC Britain?

Leave a Reply

